Award of Excellence

The American Fisheries Society's highest award of scientific achievement

2021 Award of Excellence recipient Dr. Bill Taylor and his wife Evelyn, after the award presentation.

The Society’s highest award for scientific achievement is presented to a living AFS member for original and/or outstanding contributions to fisheries and aquatic biology. The award consists of a bronze medal, a plaque, and honorarium. The award is presented at the Annual Meeting of the Society.

The Award of Excellence is administered by a special committee appointed by the AFS President.

Criteria for Selection

  1. A monumental work, or
  2. Original techniques or research methods, or
  3. New, fresh ideas, viewpoints, or data which contribute remarkable to conservation management or basic understanding of aquatic resources, or
  4. A new successfully executed fishery research or management program of national or international importance or
  5. Imaginative an successful programs in fish conservation, education at any level of teaching or graduate student guidance, or
  6. Important faunal or ecological discoveries or new taxonomic criteria, or
  7. Research especially beneficial to mankind, or
  8. Interdisciplinary research involving leadership in team efforts in the laboratory or field, or
  9. Multiple successful efforts in a variety of field such as biology, public understanding, technical and popular writing, laboratory and filed research, inspiration leadership, enunciation of principles.

Specification and Limitations

Award recipient must be living at the time of selection.

The award will not necessarily be made annually, but will be made only in such years as there is substantial or unanimous agreement among members of the Award of Excellence Committee than an award is justified.

Submit Your Nomination

Nominations should be submitted electronically using the form below. Materials should include a detailed letter of nomination to address award criteria, vitae of nominee, and additional supporting materials as needed. Please include in the nomination letter, the nominee’s title and full contact information (i.e. address, e-mail, phone, etc.) to complete the package.

The Awards Committee is dedicated to AFS goal of increasing diversity and inclusion within our Society. As part of this effort, we highly encourage nominations for individuals from historically underrepresented groups in the fisheries field.

Contact: Pat Mazik, Committee Chair

Nominations are due April 1, 2022.

  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf, jpg, jpeg, doc, Max. file size: 20 MB, Max. files: 20.
      Please upload letter of nomination, nominee's curriculum vitae, and any other supporting materials. Limit: 20 files or 256MB
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

    Past Recipients of the Award of Excellence

    1969 William E. Ricker
    1970 Stanislas Snieszko
    1971 F. E. J. Fry
    1972 Ralph Hile
    1973 Carl L. Hubbs
    1974 Clarence Tarzwell
    1975 Robert Rush Miller
    1976 Alfred W. H. Needler
    1977 Arthur D. Hasler
    1978 Peter Doudoroff
    1979 Kenneth Carlander
    1980 Reeve M. Bailey
    1981 Gunnar Svardson
    1982 Douglas Chapman
    1983 Peter A. Larkin
    1984 J. L. McHugh
    1985 Lauren Donaldson
    1986 William B. Scott
    1987 David Cushing
    1988 Clark Hubbs
    1989 John Cairns, Jr.
    1990 John A. Gulland
    1991 Kenneth Wolf
    1992 Henry A. Regier
    1993 Raymond Beverton
    1994 Shelby D. Gerking
    1995 William M. Lewis
    1996 Thomas Northcote
    1997 William C. Leggett
    1998 Carl E. Bond
    1999 Thomas F. Waters
    2000 John J. Magnuson
    2001 Saul B. Saila
    2002 John L. Fryer
    2003 James Kitchell
    2004 Daniel Pauly
    2005 Ray W. Hilborn
    2006 Carl Walters
    2007 Peter B. Moyle
    2008 John M. Casselman
    2009 Carl B. Schreck
    2010 Roy Stein
    2011 Fred W. Allendorf
    2012 David L. G. Noakes
    2013 Bonnie J. McCay
    2014 Kenneth A. Rose
    2015 Anthony Farrell
    2016 Kurt Fausch
    2017 Richard R. Beamish
    2018 Kirk Winemiller
    2019 Scott Hinch
    2020 Villy Christensen
    2021 William Taylor