William E. Ricker Resource Conservation Award

Advancing aquatic resource conservation at a national or international level

Jim Reynolds receives the 2017 William E. Ricker Resource Conservation Award from President Joe Margraf.

The William E. Ricker Resource Conservation Award, established in 1995, is given annually, if warranted, to an individual or organization for a singular accomplishment or long-term contributions that advance aquatic resource conservation at a national or international level. 

The award is administered by the Past President’s Advisory Council.

Submit Your Nomination

A nomination package should include a strong and detailed letter describing the nominee’s accomplishments and the evidence for being “significant at a national or international level”.  If the nomination is for an individual, include a CV if possible.  Nominations may be supported by multiple individuals by signing one letter, or by submitting supporting letters in addition to the main nomination letter.  Include the nominee’s title and full contact information (address, email, and phone).  Nominations should be submitted electronically using the form below.

Nomination deadline: May 1, 2018.

The nomination period for this award has closed.

Past Award Recipients

  • 1995 Brian Tobin
  • 1996 Norville Prosser, Gary Edwards, Robert Batky, Bill Price, Helen Sevier, Tom Bedell
  • 1997 Not awarded
  • 1998 Robert H. Boyle, John Cronin, Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
  • 1999 Great Lakes Fishery Commission
  • 2000 Robert Behnke
  • 2001 Pacific Biological Station
  • 2002 Gary Matlock
  • 2003 Michael Sissenwine
  • 2004 Gary E. Davis
  • 2005 Vyacheslav P. Shuntov
  • 2006 Resource Evaluation and Assessment Division, NOAA
  • 2007 Walter R. Courtenay
  • 2008 Robin S. Waples
  • 2009 David A. Fournier
  • 2010 William Walter Fox
  • 2011 Joseph S. Nelson
  • 2012 John Helle
  • 2013 Brian J. Shuter
  • 2014 Ronald Taylor
  • 2015 Coalition of Columbia Basin Tribes, a group of 15 Columbia River basin tribes and Canadian First Nations
  • 2016 Michael Jones
  • 2017 Jim Reynolds