AFS Fellows Program

For efforts in leadership, research, teaching and mentoring, resource management and/or conservation, and outreach/interaction with the public

2018 AFS Fellows

AFS designates as Fellows of the Society certain members who have made outstanding or meritorious contributions to the diversity of fields that are included in the American Fisheries Society.  Contributions can include, but are not restricted to, efforts in leadership, research, teaching and mentoring, resource management and/or conservation, and outreach/interaction with the public.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any current regular member of AFS who has been a regular member of AFS for at least the five (5) consecutive years immediately prior to his or her nomination is eligible to be nominated to be an AFS Fellow.  For these purposes, a regular member is defined as a non-student, dues-paying member or Life Member.
  • Anominee is expected to have been a member of the profession for at least fifteen (15) years. This may be time since the PhD degree, but in cases where the PhD degree is not the terminal degree, it can be interpreted as after attaining the terminal degree.
  • Demonstrated excellence of contributions to one or several of the following areas: (1) research and discovery, (2) communication and outreach, education and pedagogy, (3) application of fisheries science to management and/or policy, (4) leadership and/or advancement of the profession.
  • AFS Presidents will automatically become Fellows upon their procession to past-president, if they are not Fellows already.

Nomination Procedures

The nomination of an individual to be an AFS Fellow can be made by any three members of AFS except members of the Fellows Selection Committee (defined below).

Nominations shall be submitted electronically and consist of:

–A curriculum vitae of at most four (4) pages.  It is suggested that the vita include evidence of outstanding contributions as outlined under the eligibility criteria.

–One to three letters of recommendation, which may come from anyone, including nominators and non-members.

–A narrative of 50 or fewer words proposed for use if the nominee is selected to be a Fellow.

–No AFS member can nominate more than two individuals in a given year.

Nomination deadline: April 1, 2019.

Contact: Dennis Devries , Committee Chair
Email: [email protected]

The nomination period for this award has closed.


  • 2015
Ira R. Adelman Bruce A. Barton Kenneth L. Beal Richard J. Beamish Vicki S. Blazer
John G. Boreman Gerald R. Bouck Bradford E. Brown Carl V. Burger Dale P. Burkett
Phyllis H. Cahn Robert F. Carline John M. Casselman Joseph J. Cech Charles C. Coutant
Dennis R. DeVries Joe G. Dillard Mary C. Fabrizio William L. Fisher  William G. Franzin
Christopher Goddard Richard Gregory Carolyn A. Griswold Gary D. Grossman Christopher Guy
James D. Hall Eric M. Hallerman Michael J. Hansen Fred A. Harris Ronald Hedrick
Joseph E. Hightower Ray W. Hilborn Scott Hinch Wayne A. Hubert Raymond Hubley
Janice S. Hughes Donald C. Jackson Ambrose Jearld Keith B. Jefferts Barbara A. Knuth
Christopher C. Kohler William C. Leggett Hiram W. Li Steve E. Lochmann John J. Magnuson
Joseph F. Margraf Patricia M. Mazik Bonnie J. McCay Richard D. Methot L  Esteban Miranda
Stanley A. Moberly Christine M. Moffitt Peter B. Moyle Brian R. Murphy  John A. Musick
Jennifer L. Nielsen Larry A. Nielsen David L. G.  Noakes Donald J. Noakes Richard L. Noble
Larry L. Olmsted Nick C. Parker Daniel M. Pauly Robert G. Piper William S. Platts
Geoffrey Power Thomas P. Quinn Frank J. Rahel Lee C. Redmond Henry A. Regier
Stephen C. Riley Kenneth A. Rose Roger A. Rulifson Frederick S. Scharf Carl B. Schreck
William L. Shelton Roy A. Stein Trent M. Sutton William W. Taylor Arden J. Trandahl
Fred M. Utter Gwen M. White  Robert G. White Paul J. Wingate


  • 2016
Jeff Boxrucker David O. Conover Reginal M. Harrell Robert Hughes
Robert T. Lackey Donald J. Orth Donna L. Parrish Harold L. Schramm, Jr.


  • 2017
Ronald J. Essig Cynthia M. Jones David P. Philipp James B. Reynolds


  • 2018
Kirk Owen Winemiller Reynaldo Patino Lawrence M. Page Steven J. Cooke