Excellence in Public Outreach

Going the extra mile to share the value of fisheries science/research with the general public

Nick Kramer accepts a 2022 Excellence in Public Outreach Award, on behalf of the Fisheries Podcast team

The Award for Excellence in Public Outreach was established in 1998 and is presented to an AFS member who goes the “extra mile” in sharing the value of fisheries science/research with the general public through the popular media and other communication channels.  Two or more individuals may act as nominators, but at least one nominator must be an AFS member.  Entries must include a biographical sketch of the nominee (not to exceed 3 pages) and supporting evidence of communicating the value of fisheries issues/research to the general public through the media and other communication channels, plus any evidence of teaching others about communication with the public. The awardee will receive a letter of recognition informing them of the award and inviting them to attend the annual AFS meeting (at recipient’s expense) for the formal presentation.  The recipient will receive a plaque and will be honored in Fisheries Magazine.

The award is administered by a committee of the AFS External Affairs Committee.

Submit Your Nomination

Please include in the nomination letter, the nominee’s title and full contact information (i.e. address, e-mail, phone) to complete the package.  Nominations should be submitted electronically using the form below.

The Awards Committee is dedicated to AFS goal of increasing diversity and inclusion within our Society. As part of this effort, we highly encourage nominations for individuals from historically underrepresented groups in the fisheries field.

2023 Award Nominations should be submitted online at https://afsawards.awardsplatform.com/

Nomination deadline: April 1, 2023.
Contact: Theresa Mackey, Committee Chair

Past Award Recipients

  • 1998 Judith M. Maule
  • 1999 Not awarded
  • 2000 Billy J. Higginbotham
  • 2001 Hal Schramm
  • 2003 David Willis
  • 2004 Gene Gililland
  • 2005 Stephen Quinn, Ray Troll
  • 2006 Ralph Manns
  • 2007 Not awarded
  • 2008 Craig Springer
  • 2009 Not awarded
  • 2010 Not awarded
  • 2011 Randall Claramunt
  • 2012 Jimmy Barnett
  • 2013 Lauri Monnot and U. Rashid Sumaila
  • 2014 Ellen Pikitch
  • 2015 The Fisheries Blog
  • 2016 Dr. Robert Neumann
  • 2017 Dr. Andy J. Danylchuk
  • 2018 Dr. Robert Arlinghaus
  • 2019 Dr. Donald Orth
  • 2020 Bob Lusk
  • 2021 Jessica Feltz
  • 2022 Nick Castillo; the Fisheries Podcast