Committee Chairs

Committee chairs represent the functions which are essential to the organizational life of AFS.

American Fisheries Society page for procedure

Credit: NOAA

Society Committees 2023-2024

Complete contact information for committee chairs can be found in the online Membership Directory. If you have any questions about committee activities, please feel free to contact the committee chair. You may also contact Lauren Maza at [email protected], your Unit Services contact.

(Last Updated September 6, 2023)

Standing Committees

Awards: Overall co-chairs:
• Mark Pyron, [email protected]
• Cari-Ann Hayer, [email protected],

Annual Meeting (General Meeting Chairs): Co-chairs,
Jennifer Johnson, [email protected]
Doug Larson, [email protected]

Audit: Chair, Tim Copeland, [email protected]

Board of Appeals: Chair,

Board of Professional Certification: Overall Chair: Justin VanDeHey, [email protected]

Communications Committee: Chair, Julie Simpson, [email protected] 

Constitutional Consultant: Randy Schultz, [email protected]

Diversity & Inclusion Committee: Chairs, Chelsey Crandall and Solomon David

Electronic Services Advisory Board: Chair,

Endangered Species: Chair, Howard L. Jelks, [email protected]

Ethics and Professional Conduct: Chair, Brian Missildine, [email protected]

Hutton Junior Fisheries Biology Program: Co-chairs,
Kathy Guindon, [email protected]
• April Croxton

Investment: Chair, Troy M. Brandt, [email protected]

Meetings Oversight: Co-chairs,
• Paul Venturelli, [email protected]
• Gary Whelan, [email protected]

Membership: Co-chairs,
• Abigail Archer, [email protected]

Names of Aquatic Invertebrates: TBD, Vacant

Names of Fishes: Chair, Tom Dowling, [email protected]

Nominating: Chair, Jeff Kopaska, [email protected]

Past Presidents’ Advisory Council: Chairs, Bob Hughes and Christine Moffitt

Professional Development: Chair, Heidi Blasius, [email protected]

Publications Overview: Chair, Steve Midway, [email protected]

Resource Policy: Chair, Leanne Roulson, [email protected]


Special Committees

Emerging Leaders Mentorship Award Program: Chair, Mike Colvin, [email protected]

Financial Planning and Procedures Committee: Troy Brandt, [email protected]

Fish Management Chemicals: Co-chairs,
• Don Skaar, [email protected]
• Brian Finlayson, [email protected]

Standardization: Jesse Trushenski, [email protected]

Strategic Evaluation and Positioning Committee: TBD


American Institute of Fishery Research Biologists: TBD

The American Society of Civil Engineers: Mike Garello, [email protected]

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists:
Mike and Marlis Douglas, [email protected]; [email protected]

Brazilian Society of Ichthyology: Luiz Silva, [email protected]

China Society of Fisheries: Yushun Chen, [email protected]

Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation: Karin Limburg, [email protected]

The Coastal Society: Tom Bigford, [email protected]

Consortium of Aquatic Science Societies: Leanne Roulson, [email protected]

Desert Fishes Council: David L Ward, [email protected]

Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture: John Magee, [email protected]

Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society (FMCS): Jeremy Tiemann, [email protected]

National Fish Habitat Action Plan Board: Kimberly Dibble, [email protected]

Society for Conservation Biology: Paul Angermeier, [email protected]

Society for Freshwater Science: Shannon Brewer, [email protected]

United States Society of Ecological Economics, Karin Limburg, [email protected]

World Aquaculture Society: Carl Kittel,  [email protected]

World Council of Fisheries Societies: Donna Parrish, [email protected]