Committee Chairs

Committee chairs represent the functions which are essential to the organizational life of AFS.

American Fisheries Society page for procedure

Credit: NOAA

Society Committees 2017-2018

Complete contact information for committee chairs can be found in the online Membership Directory. If you have any questions about committee activities, please feel free to contact the committee chair. You may also contact Jasmine Sewell jsewell@fisheries.org, your Unit Services Coordinator.

(Last Updated October 5, 2017)

Standing Committees

Awards: Overall co-chairs:
• Robert Curry, robert_curry@fws.gov,
• Christine Moffitt, cmoffitt@uidaho.edu

Local Arrangements: General meeting chair,
• Chair, Vince Travnichek, Vincent.Travnichek@mdc.mo.gov 

Audit: Chair,

Board of Appeals: Chair, Justin VanDeHey, Justin.VanDeHey@uwsp.edu

Board of Professional Certification: Overall chair: Justin VanDeHey, Justin.VanDeHey@uwsp.edu

Constitutional Consultant: John Boreman,  jgboremanjr@gmail.com

Continuing Education: Chair, Christopher Millard, nedafs.millard@gmail.com

Electronic Services Advisory Board: Chair, Rebecca Krogman, rebecca.krogman@gmail.com

Endangered Species: Chair, Howard L. Jelks, hjelks@usgs.gov

Ethics and Professional Conduct: Chair, Jud Kratzer, Jud.Kratzer@state.vt.us

External Affairs: Chair, Sarah Glaser, sarahmglaser@gmail.com

Hutton Junior Fisheries Biology Program: Co-Chair, Hilda M. Sexauer, hilda.sexauer@wyo.gov

Co-Chair, Laura Tesler, laura.tesler@state.or.us

Investment: Chair, Troy M. Brandt, tbrandt@riverdesigngroup.net

Membership: Co-chairs,
• Co-Chair Joel C. Hoffman , hoffman.joel@epa.gov
• Co-Chair Douglas Workman, dworkman@advancedecological.com

Names of Aquatic Invertebrates: TBD

Names of Fishes: Chair, Larry Page, lpage1@ufl.edu

Nominating: Chair,Hilda Sexauer , hilda.sexauer@wyo.gov

Past Presidents’ Advisory Council:
• Chair, Past President Joe Margraf, jmargraf@alaska.edu

Program Committee: Co- Chairs;
• Abigail Franklin Archer, aarcher@barnstablecounty.org
• Quinton Phelps, quinton.phelps@mdc.mo.gov

Publication Awards: Chair, Allison Pease, allison.pease@ttu.edu

Publications Overview: Chair, Emmanuel A. Frimpong, frimp@vt.edu

Raffle: Chair, Mike Hudson, michael_hudson@fws.gov

Resolutions: Chair, Kristen Ferry, kristen.ferry@state.ma.us

Resource Policy: Chair, Leanne Roulson, Leanne.roulson@msu.montana.edu

Time and Place: Inactive for 2017-2018

Vote Auditor: Co-chairs,
• Lisa Kerr, lkerr@GMRI.ORG
• Kathy Mills, kmills@gmri.org

Special Committees

Communications Strategic Planning: Gwen White, gwen_white@fws.gov

Constitution Revisions: Chair,
Joe Margraf, jmargraf@usgs.gov

Educational Requirements:
Chair, Steve McMullin, smcmulli@vt.edu

Emerging Leaders Mentorship Award Program:
Co-Chair, Jim Bowker, jim_bowker@fws.gov

Co-Chair, Jesse Trushenski,  jesse.trushenski@idfg.idaho.gov

Fellows Selection Program: Chair, Dennis Devries, devridr@auburn.edu

Fish Management Chemicals: 

Publisher Selection: 

Enhancement of the Fisheries Profession: Chair, Tom Lang, tom.lang@tpwd.state.tx.us

Elevation of AFS Journals: Chair, Jeff Schaeffer, Jeff_Schaeffer@usgs.gov

Inter-Section Committee on Education Requirements: Chair, Trent Sutton

Diversity & Inclusion: Chair, Brooke Penaluna, brooke.penaluna@oregonstate.edu

Liaisons

American Institute of Fishery Research Biologists: Sean Lucey, sean.lucey@noaa.gov

The American Society of Civil Engineers: Mike Garello, mike.garello@hdrinc.com

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists:
Mike and Marlis Douglas, MED1@UARK.EDU; MRD1@UARK.EDU

Brazilian Society of Ichthyology: Luiz Silva, LUIZSILVA@UFSJ.EDU.BR

China Society of Fisheries: Yushun Chen, yushunchen@ihb.ac.cn

Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation: Tom Bigford, tbigford@fisheries.org

The Coastal Society: Tom Bigford, tbigford@fisheries.org

Consortium of Aquatic Science Societies: Jesse Trushenski jesse.trushenski@idfg.idaho.gov

Desert Fishes Council: David L Ward, dlward@usgs.gov

Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture: John Magee, john.magee@wildlife.nh.gov

Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society (FMCS): Jeremy Tiemann, jtiemann@illinois.edu

National Fish Habitat Action Plan Board: Tom Bigford, tbigford@fisheries.org

Society for Conservation Biology: Paul Angermeier, biota@vt.edu

Society for Freshwater Science: Shannon Brewer, shannon.brewer@okstate.edu

Sport Fishing and Boating Partnership Council: Fred Harris, fahadh92@hotmail.com

United States Society of Ecological Economics, Karin Limburg, klimburg@esf.edu

World Aquaculture Society: Carl Kittel,  carl.kittel@tpwd.texas.gov

World Council of Fisheries Societies: Donna Parrish, dparrish@uvm.edu