Recent Section Award Recipients

We are honored to present the recipients of AFS Section Awards!

Photo of American Fisheries Society Award Recipients

Credit: American Fisheries Society

The following AFS Sections announced award recipients at the 2016 Annual Meeting.

Canadian Aquatic Resources Section

Peter A. Larkin Award

  • Ph.D. level – Jacqueline M. Chapman (Carleton University), Nathan Furey (University of British Columbia)
  • M.Sc. level – Jill Brooks (Carleton University) and Petra Szekeres (Carleton University) ; runners up: Brittany Sullivan (Carleton University)

Education Section


Early Career Professional Award- David Deslauriers and Jesse Fischer

Young Professional Achievement Award – Mark Fincel, South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks

AFS/SEA GRANT Best Student Poster and Paper Awards at the 2015 Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon

Best Student Paper Oral: Bobbi Johnson

Best Student Paper Oral Honorable Mention: Michael malick

Best Student Paper Poster: Elizabeth Ng

Best Student Paper Poster Honorable Mention: Not awarded this year

Estuaries Section

Student Travel Award: Samantha Binion-Rock from the
North Carolina State University

Student Travel Award: Grant Adams from the University of
Southern Mississippi

Fisheries Information and Technology Section

Best Student Poster Award – Nick Sievert, University of Missouri

Fish Culture Section

Student travel award  – Michael Page, Southern Illinois University

Artur Rombenso, Southern Illinois University

Paula Caldentey, Mote Marine Laboratory

Award of Excellence – Rob Schmid, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Best Paper in NAJA – Quiniou, Sylvie M. A., B. Bosworth, N. Chatakondi, and D. Oberle. 2014. “Evaluation of a gonadotropin releasing hormone analog of cGnRH II as a spawning aid for channel catfish versus analogs of mGnRH I and sGnRH III. North American Journal of Aquaculture 76:281-288”

Fish Habitat Section

Best Student Presentation- Corey DeBoom

The presentation entitled “Testing Hypotheses Linking Coarse Woody Habitat, Fish Populations, and Food Webs in Experimental Ecosystems during the Reservoir Fisheries Habitat Restoration: Innovative Techniques to Restore Habitat in our Nation’s Impoundments symposium”.

Fish Health Section

Snieszko Student Travel Award – Diane Elliott

Fisheries Administration Section

2015 Outstanding Sport Fish Restoration

  • Fisheries Research and Surveys Category: Colorado Parks and Wildlife – Investigation of Methods to Improve Spawning, Rearing, and Survival of Sport Fish Species in Hatcheries and in the Wild
  • Aquatic Education Category: Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation – Oklahoma Fishing in the Schools Program
  • Sport Fishery Development and Management Category: Wyoming Game and Fish Commission – Lake DeSmet Water Lease to Ensure Sufficient Water and Public Access

Fisheries Management Section

Award of Excellence – Fred Ryckman and Andre Punt

Conservation Achievement Award – Ocean Tracking Network (OTN), and Discovery World Science and Technology Center

Hall of Excellence –

Genetics Section

James E. Wright Graduate Award –

Nathan Lucas, University of Connecticut
“Using Riverscape Genetics to Inform Conservation of Eastern Brook Trout Populations”
Co-advisors: Jason Vokoun, Amy Welsh

Jackman Eschenroeder, Georgia Southern University
“Hybridization and Replacement of Roanoke Bass with Invasive Rock Bass in Virginia: A Genetic Analysis of the Problem”
Advisor: Jamie Roberts

Stevan Phelps Memorial Award – Kathleen M. Fisch, Christine C. Kozfkay, Jamie A. Ivy, Oliver A. Ryder, and Robin S. Waples were awarded for their paper, “Fish Hatchery Genetic Management Techniques: Integrating Theory with Implementation” in the North American Journal of Aquaculture 77:343-357.

Early Career Award- Dr. Scott Pavey, University of New Brunswick

Student Travel Award- Carolyn Tarpey and Ryan Whitmore


International Fisheries Section

International Fisheries Section Fellow Award- Charles D. Waters

Marine Fisheries Section

Steven Berkeley Marine Conservation Fellowship

  • 2016- Recipient: Jacob Brownscombe, Carleton University

Honorable Mention: Katherine Silliman, University of Chicago

Honorable Mention: Dustin Chen, UC San Diego

Honorable Mention: Gayathiri Gnanalingam, Old Dominion University

Oscar E. Sette award – Dr. Ellen Pikitch

Student Travel award – Mackenzie Mazur, Grant Adams, and Lisa Hollensead

Water Quality Section

Best Student Poster Award – Melvin Samson  (State University of NY College of Environmental Science and Forestry) His  poster  is entitled:  Tracking Hypoxia Exposure in Yellow Perch with Otolith Chemistry: Spatial Variation in Lake Erie.