Equal Opportunities Section (EOS) Student Travel Award

2017 Application Form


Credit: American Fisheries Society


Use this form to apply for the EOS Travel Award to attend the 2017 Annual Meeting of the American Fisheries Society to be held in Tampa, Florida from August 20-24, 2017.  Additional information regarding the EOS Travel Award and meeting arrangements can be found at: https://afsannualmeeting.fisheries.org/


The AFS Equal Opportunities Section is leading an effort to increase participation in the Society by graduate and undergraduate students from underrepresented groups, including women and minorities. Travel grants not to exceed $500 each will be awarded on a competitive basis to assist these students with expenses incurred when attending the annual meeting. We will provide as many awards as we have funding for (typically 3-5). Funds are not distributed in advance. Students must be present at the Equal Opportunities Society section luncheon and business meeting at the Annual Meeting to receive the funds.

The EOS encourages application from students who have not attended AFS meetings in the past. We will support award recipients during the meeting through orientation and mentorship, if desired by the student. There are wonderful networking opportunities, technical sessions, continuing education, trade show displays, and career/job opportunities, and graduate school opportunities at the meeting. We can also assist students with finding additional travel support, if needed. We look forward to hearing from you!

Please complete the entire form below and send by email or mail to:

Dr. April Croxton

National Sea Grant Program

Phone: 301-734-1073
email: april.croxton@noaa.gov

The nomination period for this award has closed.

The nomination period for this award has closed.