Resource Policy Committee


The Resource Policy Committee helps the Society evaluate, develop, and maintain resource policies by assessing concerns of the membership, advising the AFS President and Executive Director about aquatic resource issues, producing or coordinating draft resource policy statements for Society approval, and reviewing approved policies to ensure usefulness.

It is composed of a Chair, Vice-Chair, and up to fifteen members, appointed for staggered 2-year terms. Membership is renewable for an additional two terms for a maximum total of six years. No more than eight members are replaced during any one calendar year. At least one member is from Canada or Mexico. The President-Elect is a voting member. The Editor of Fisheries, Executive Director, and Policy Director are nonvoting members.

2017-2018 Resource Policy Committee Members


Patrick Shirey

Principal, Ecology Policy, LLC, Pittsburgh

Email: [email protected]






Standing members will be delegates appointed by unit presidents and represent the four AFS divisions and these 21 AFS sections:

  • Bioengineering
  • Canadian Aquatic Resources
  • Education
  • Student Subsection of Education
  • Early Life History
  • Equal Opportunities
  • Estuaries
  • Fisheries Administration
  • Fish Culture
  • Fish Health
  • Fish Habitat
  • Fishery Information and Technology
  • Fisheries Management
  • Fish Genetics
  • International Fisheries
  • Introduced Fish
  • Marine Fisheries
  • Physiology
  • Science Communication
  • Socio-economics
  • Water Quality

Another 5-10 at-large RPC members shall be selected by the chair from AFS members expressing interest. Membership should provide diversity across geography, technical field, and membership category (students, early career professionals, regular members, retired, etc.). The AFS President-elect and Policy Director hold ex-officio seats on this committee. For 2017-2018, the at-large members may include some of the following members from 2016-2017:

Mark S. Poesch

[email protected]


Dana Postlewait

R2 Resource Consultants, Inc.

[email protected]


Katie N. Bertrand

[email protected]


David Bogner

Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation

[email protected]


Zachary Penney

Columbia River Inter-Tribal

[email protected]


James Vasslides

Barnegat Bay Partnership

[email protected]


Ken Kurzawski

Texas Parks & Wildlife Dept.

[email protected]


Carl J. Kittel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

[email protected]


Randy MacMillan

[email protected]m


Stephen K. Brown


[email protected]


Jodi Whittier

University of Missouri

[email protected]


Randall D. Schultz

Iowa DNR

[email protected]


Wendylee Stott

Great Lakes Science Center-USGS

[email protected]   


Gene Wilde

TX Tech University

[email protected]


Tina Swanson

Natural Resources Defense Council

[email protected]


William T. Stewart

[email protected]


John Boreman

NC State University

[email protected]


Susan Edwards

Appalachian State University

[email protected]


Keith Criddle

UAF Fisheries Division–Juneau

[email protected]


Andrew Todd


[email protected]


Leanne Roulson

HydroSolutions Inc

[email protected]


Scott van Horn

[email protected]


Sandy Clark-Kolacks

[email protected]


Austin Humphries

[email protected]


Jesse Trushenski-PRESIDENT-ELECT

Evaqua Farms

[email protected]




AFS Staff

Douglas Austen

Executive Director

Email: [email protected]


Drue Winters

Policy Director

[email protected]