March 20, 2020

The Honorable Betty McCollum Chair Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable David Joyce Ranking Member Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairwoman McCollum and Ranking Member Joyce:

We are writing to express our support for the State and Tribal Wildlife Grants (STWG) program. We appreciate your past support and are hopeful that your support will continue. We believe that the STWG program is an important investment needed to sustain our nation's fish and wildlife. In fiscal year 2020, \$67.6 million was appropriated for the program to conserve fish and wildlife in the 56 states, territories, and District of Columbia, and on tribal lands. We ask that you allocate robust funding for this important, time-tested program for fiscal year 2021.

The STWG program provides states, territories, the District of Columbia, and Indian tribes with the resources they need to implement proactive and effective wildlife conservation actions aimed at keeping wildlife from becoming endangered. It is a mission-critical element of Department of the Interior's budget, as no other program is focused on this goal. As you know, states bear the primary responsibility for wildlife management, and since the 1930's the federal government has worked in partnership with the states to fund successful conservation programs that ensure sustainability of the fish and wildlife species enjoyed by all Americans.

The STWG program is the only program that funds proactive conservation work aimed at eliminating the need to list species as federally threatened or endangered, saving taxpayer dollars and reducing regulatory uncertainty to business. The program is also critical to state efforts to recover species that are already federally threatened or endangered. Robust and consistent funding for the STWG program is key to meeting the shared state-federal responsibility for keeping our nation's fish and wildlife healthy and sustainable. Now more than ever, we should be focusing limited resources on this kind of smart and effective investment in conservation.

The STWG program supports implementation and revision of State Wildlife Action Plans that were developed collaboratively by leading scientists, sportsmen and sportswomen, wildlife viewers, conservationists, tribes, and private landowners to conserve more than 12,000 species in need of proactive conservation. Congress can demonstrate its commitment to these plans in every state and territory by providing the federal share of support which will leverage millions in state and private matching funds. This investment helps support jobs and the \$427 billion outdoor recreation economy.

We urge the Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies to provide the highest appropriation possible for the STWG program in Fiscal Year 2021 so that these important conservation efforts can expand to prevent more fish and wildlife from becoming endangered. Thank you for your consideration of our request. Sincerely,

MIKE THOMPSON	DON YOUNG	

CINDY AXNE	SANFORD D. BISHOP, JR.
JULIA BROWNLEY	PETER DEFAZIO
BILL FOSTER	RUBEN GALLEGO
RO KHANNA	RON KIND
BARBARA LEE	JOHN LEWIS
GWEN MOORE	GRACE F. NAPOLITANO
GREGORIO KILILI CAMACHO SABLAN	JAN SCHAKOWSKY
JOHN YARMUTH	GREG STANTON
TULSI GABBARD	DANIEL W. LIPINSKI

RAÚL M. GRIJALVA	MARK DESAULNIER
SUZANNE BONAMICI	JOHN P. SARBANES
DANNY K. DAVIS	SEAN CASTEN
JAMES P. MCGOVERN	RICK LARSEN
ALCEE L. HASTINGS	DAVID N. CICILLINE
ANTHONY G. BROWN	ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON

CHRISTOPHER H. SMITH	SCOTT PETERS
PRAMILA JAYAPAL	ELIOT L. ENGEL
PAUL A. GOSAR, D.D.S.	MIKE DOYLE
JENNIFFER GONZÁLEZ-COLÓN	KATHY CASTOR
DON BACON	TONY CÁRDENAS
MADELEINE DEAN	

STEVE COHEN	SUZAN K. DELBENE
MARC VEASEY	JOSEPH D MORELLE
AL GREEN	A. DONALD MCEACHIN
GERALD E. CONNOLLY	BRIAN FITZPATRICK
GERALD E. CONNOLL I	BRIANTITZI ATRICK
DAVE LOEBSACK	PETER WELCH

JIMMY PANETTA	JAHANA HAYES
KATHLEEN M. RICE	JOSEPH P. KENNEDY III
MARK TAKANO	JOHN GARAMENDI
ELISE M. STEFANIK	JOHN KATKO
JUDY CHU	EARL BLUMENAUER

ANTONIO R. DELGADO	ALBIO SIRES
HENRY C. "HANK" JOHNSON, JR.	JIM COSTA
CAROLYN B. MALONEY	LORI TRAHAN
DONNA SHALALA	RAJA KRISHNAMOORTHI
SUSAN A. DAVIS	JOHN B. LARSON

SHARICE L. DAVIDS	ANN MCLANE KUSTER
FILEMON VELA	GLENN THOMPSON
BILL PASCRELL JR.	ANNA G. ESHOO
SEAN PATRICK MALONEY	BRENDAN F. BOYLE
THOMAS R. SUOZZI	MICHAEL F.Q. SAN NICOLAS
WILLIAM R. KEATING	

JACKIE SPEIER	DONALD S. BEYER JR.
STEPHEN F. LYNCH	CEDRIC RICHMOND
JOE COURTNEY	TOM O'HALLERAN
RAUL RUIZ, M.D.	STEVEN HORSFORD
STEPHANIE MURPHY	AL LAWSON
CHRIS PAPPAS	ILHAN OMAR

NANETTE DIAZ BARRAGÁN	COLIN ALLRED
ROBERT C. "BOBBY" SCOTT	LINDA T. SÁNCHEZ
DAVID ROUZER	VERONICA ESCOBAR
ROBIN L. KELLY	ADAM B. SCHIFF
BOBBY L. RUSH	KIM SCHRIER, M.D.
EMANUEL CLEAVER, II	DINA TITUS
PETE STAUBER	DEB HAALAND

KENDRA S. HORN	ZOE LOFGREN
JERRY MCNERNEY	LIZZIE FLETCHER
HARLEY ROUDA	COLLIN C. PETERSON
FRANK PALLONE, JR.	
DAVID TRONE	DENNY HECK
G. K. BUTTERFIELD	ANGIE CRAIG
DEBBIE MUCARSEL-POWELL	STACEY E. PLASKETT
JAMIE RASKIN	JARED HUFFMAN
SUSIE LEE	ANDY LEVIN

JESÚS G. "CHUY" GARCÍA	DONALD M. PAYNE, JR.
AMI BERA, M.D.	JAMES R. LANGEVIN
TOM MALINOWSKI	ADAM SMITH
DORIS O. MATSUI	KAREN BASS
PAUL D. TONKO	DANIEL T. KILDEE
RASHIDA TLAIB	PAUL COOK
ROSA L. DELAURO	JEFFERSON VAN DREW
DIANA DEGETTE	TED W. LIEU
ADRIAN SMITH	DANIEL P. MEUSER

DEAN PHILLIPS	JERROLD NADLER
ALAN LOWENTHAL	BEN MCADAMS
SALUD O. CARBAJAL	GREG GIANFORTE
LUCILLE ROYBAL-ALLARD	MIKE LEVIN
NYDIA M. VELÁZQUEZ	ABIGAIL SPANBERGER
BEN RAY LUJÁN	FRED KELLER
CONOR LAMB	ALMA S. ADAMS, PH.D.
ELISSA SLOTKIN	GILBERT R. CISNEROS, JR.

JOE NEGUSE	DARREN SOTO
LISA BLUNT ROCHESTER	JAMES A. HIMES
DOUG LAMALFA	JOSH GOTTHEIMER
MIKE KELLY	JASON CROW
DAVID SCOTT	DOUG COLLINS
DANIEL WEBSTER	SYLVIA R. GARCIA
JEFF FORTENBERRY	FRANK LUCAS