Meritorious Service Award Committee

The Meritorious Service Award, first presented in 1986, is awarded annually to an individual AFS member for unswerving loyalty, dedication, and meritorious service to AFS over a long time; and for exceptional commitment to AFS programs, ideals, objectives, and long-term goals. The award consists of a plaque.

The Meritorious Service Award Committee seeks nominations and selects the recipient of this award by fulfilling duties as described in the Awards Committee Section of the Procedures and by developing and implementing a method for selecting a recipient from among the candidates submitted (no more than one recipient per year may be selected; the committee may vote to select no recipient).

The committee is composed of a chair and four other members, one of whom is the Second Vice-President, and is appointed by the AFS President.

2014-2015 Meritorious Service Award Committee Members


Robert Curry
NC Wildlife Resources Commission
Division of Inland Fisheries
Raleigh, NC
Email:  [email protected]


Northeastern Division Representative

Carolyn Griswold
Email:  [email protected]

North Central Division Representative

Cari-Ann Hayer
U.S. Geological Survey
Columbia Environmental Research Center
Columbia, MO
Email:  [email protected]

Southern Division Representative

Steve McMullin, AFS Second Vice President
Associate Department Head, Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA
Email:  [email protected]

Western Division Representative

Pam Sponholtz
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Lakewood, CO
Email:  [email protected]