Membership Committee

The Membership Committee maintains or increases Society membership and recommends appropriate measures to attract new members and retain existing members. It monitors attitudes of members toward the Society by means of surveys, correspondence, and other avenues of communication. It recommends programs to address membership professional needs and problems.

The Membership Committee is composed of up to nine members with staggered two-year terms; half of whom are appointed by each new AFS President who designates the Chair from among the Committee. Members will include the AFS First Vice-President, Second Vice-President, President-Elect, and Chairs of Division Membership Committees. All members of this Committee are voting members with the exception of the AFS President and staff.

2015-2016 Membership Committee Members


Abby Lynch
Research Fisheries Biologist
U.S. Geological Survey
National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center
Reston, VA.
Email:  [email protected]

Doug Workman
North Central Division Representative
Advanced Ecological Management, LLC.
Reed City, MI
Email: [email protected]


Mike Eggleton 

Email: [email protected]

Northeastern Division Representative

Jason Vokoun
University of Connecticut
Email:  [email protected]

Southern Division Representative

Michael S. Allen
University  of florida
Email: [email protected]

Western Division Representative

James Bowker

Email: [email protected]


Ron Essig
Email: [email protected]


Joe Margraf
Email: [email protected]


Steve L. McMullin 
Email: [email protected]


Jesse Trushenski

Email: [email protected]

At-Large Members

Joel Hoffman
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Email: [email protected]

Jim Long
Oklahoma State University
Email: [email protected]

Chris Millard
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Email: [email protected]

Hilda Sexauer
Wyoming Game and Fish Department
Email: [email protected]

Pamela Sponholtz
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Email: [email protected]

AFS Staff

Douglas Austen
Executive Director

Email: [email protected]

Beth Beard
Communications Manager

Email: [email protected]

Thomas Bigford
Policy Director

Email: [email protected]

Eva Przygodzki
Membership Coordinator

Email: [email protected]