Membership Committee

The Membership Committee maintains or increases Society membership and recommends appropriate measures to attract new members and retain existing members. It monitors attitudes of members toward the Society by means of surveys, correspondence, and other avenues of communication. It recommends programs to address membership professional needs and problems.

The Membership Committee is composed of up to nine members with staggered two-year terms; half of whom are appointed by each new AFS President who designates the Chair from among the Committee. Members will include the AFS First Vice-President, Second Vice-President, President-Elect, and Chairs of Division Membership Committees. All members of this Committee are voting members with the exception of the AFS President and staff.

2015-2016 Membership Committee Members

Co-Chairs

Abby Lynch
Research Fisheries Biologist
U.S. Geological Survey
National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center
Reston, VA.
Email:  ajlynch@usgs.gov

Doug Workman
North Central Division Representative
Advanced Ecological Management, LLC.
Reed City, MI
Email: dworkman@advancedecological.com

Members

Mike Eggleton 

Email: meggleton@uaex.edu

Northeastern Division Representative

Jason Vokoun
University of Connecticut
Email:  Jason.vokoun@uconn.edu

Southern Division Representative

Michael S. Allen
University  of florida
Email: msal@ufl.edu

Western Division Representative

James Bowker

Email: Jim_bowker@fws.gov

PRESIDENT

Ron Essig
Email: ron_essig@fws.gov

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Joe Margraf
Email: jmargraf@usgs.gov

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Steve L. McMullin 
Email: smcmulli@vt.edu

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

Jesse Trushenski

Email: saluski@siu.edu

At-Large Members

Joel Hoffman
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Email: hoffman.joel@epa.gov

Jim Long
Oklahoma State University
Email: longjm@okstate.edu

Chris Millard
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Email: christopher.millard@ferc.gov

Hilda Sexauer
Wyoming Game and Fish Department
Email: hilda.sexauer@wyo.gov

Pamela Sponholtz
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Email: pamela_sponholtz@fws.gov

AFS Staff

Douglas Austen
Executive Director

Email: dausten@fisheries.org

Beth Beard
Digital Content and Engagement Strategist

Email: bbeard@fisheries.org

Thomas Bigford
Policy Director

Email: tbigford@fisheries.org

Juanita Flick
Membership Assistant

Email: jflick@fisheries.org

Sarah Gilbert Fox
Content Director, Fisheries Managing Editor

Email: sgilbertfox@fisheries.org

Eva Przygodzki
Membership Coordinator

Email: eprzygod@fisheries.org