Governing Board

2014-2015 GOVERNING BOARD LIST
    Edited September 23, 2014

AFS OFFICERS: (Management Committee)

Donna L. Parrish, President
U.S. Geological Survey
Vermont Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
302 Aiken Ctr. UVM
Burlington, VT 05405
TEL: 802-656-2693
dparrish@uvm.edu

Ronald J. Essig, President-Elect
USFWS, WSFR
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, MA 01035
TEL:  413-253-8504
Ron_essig@fws.gov

Joe Margraf, First Vice President
1135 Park Ave Unit 904
Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
TEL: 303-656-0906
jmargraf@alaska.edu

Steve L McMullin, Second Vice President
Virginia Tech
Dept Fish & Wildlife Conservation
310 West Campus Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
TEL:  540 231-8847
smcmulli@vt.edu

Bob Hughes, Past President
May-November
Amnis Opes Institute
2895 SE GLENN
Corvallis, OR 97333
TEL: 541 752 2632; NO FAX
December-April
Amnis Opes Institute
112 Aspen Meadows Road #39
Driggs, Idaho 83422
TEL: 208 354 2632
hughes.bob@amnisopes.com

Northeastern Division    
John E. Cooper (President)
Cooper Environmental Research
1444 Co RT 23
Constantia, NY 13044
(315) 623-9694
cooperesearch@hughes.net

Northeastern Division [MGT COMM]         
  Kristen H. Ferry (President-elect)
Massachusetts Division of Ecological Restoration
251 Causeway St Ste 400
Boston, MA 02114-2119
TEL:  617 626-1264
Kristen.Ferry@state.ma.us

North Central Division   [MGT COMM]

Vince Travnichek (President)
Missouri Department of Conservation
15181 Chinnereth Est
Savannah, MO 64485
Tel: (816) 271-3111 X226
vince.travnichek@mdc.mo.gov

North Central Division
Melissa Wuellner  (President-elect)
South Dakota State University
Dept of Natural Resource Management
Box 2140B
Brookings, SD 57007-1696
Tel: 605 688-5963
melissa.wuellner@sdstate.edu

Southern Division
Dennis Riecke (President-elect)
1505 Eastover Drive
Jackson, MS 39211
TEL:  601-432-2207
dennisr@mdwfp.state.ms.us

Southern Division   [MGT COMM]
Dave Coughlan (Vice President)
1829 Cameron Heights Circle
Denver, NC 28037
Tel: 707-999-4622
dave.coughlan186@gmail.com

Western Division    [MGT COMM]          

Hilda Sexauer  (President-elect)
Wyoming Game and Fish Dept.
432 East Mill Street
Pinedale, WY 82941
TEL: (307) 367-4353 ext 231
Hilda.Sexauer@wyo.gov

 

Western Division
Jim Bowker (President –Elect)
US Fish and Wildlife Service
4050 Bridger Canyon Road
Bozeman, MT 59715
TEL: 406 994-9910
jim_bowker@fws.gov

Bioengineering Section [MGT COMM]           

Laura A. Wildman (President)
Princeton Hydro
931 Main St Suite 2
South Glastonbury, CT 06073
TEL: 860-652-8911
lwildman@princetonhydro.com

Canadian Aquatic Res Section
Jacob G. Imhof (Jack)
36A Market Street
Georgetown, ON L7G 3C1
Canada
TEL: (613) 520-2600 x2143
JImhof@tucanada.org

Early Life History Section 

Myron A. Peck (President)
Institute of Hydrobiology and Fisheries Science
University of Hamburg
Olbersweg 24, D-22767
Hamburg, Germany
TEL: +49 40 42 838 6642
myron.peck@uni-hamburg.de
Education Section

Craig Paukert (President)
Missouri Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
302 Anheuser-Busch Natural Resources Building
University of Missouri, Columbia, MO  65211
TEL; 573-882-3524
paukertc@missouri.edu 

Equal Opportunities Section
Marybeth K. Brey (President)
Southern Illinois University
SIU Fisheries
1125 Lincoln Drive 173 Life Sciences II
Carbondale, IL 62901
TEL: 919 508-7190
mkbrey@gmail.com

Estuaries Section
Abigail Franklin (President)
2676 Main St.
Brewster, MA 02631
TEL: 781-775-7967
afranklin@barnstablecounty.org

Fish Culture Section
Jesse Trushenski (President)  [MGT COMM]
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1125 Lincoln Dr
Life Science 11, Room 173
Carbondale, IL 62901-6511
TEL: (618) 536- 7761
saluski@siu.edu

Fish Habitat Section
John A. Sweka (President)
803 Snydertown Rd.
Howard, PA  16841
Tel: 814-574-7058
jsweka@embarqmail.com

Fish Health Section
Rodman G Getchell (President)
Cornell University
1183 Taughannock Blvd
Ithaca, NY 14850
TEL:  607 253-3393
rgg4@cornell.edu
 Fisheries Administration Section

Michael D. Stone (President)  [MGT COMM]
7242 Bomar Dr
Cheyenne, WY 82009
TEL: (307) 635-7795
mdsfish@gmail.com

Fisheries History Section
Dave Clapp (President)
MI DNR
Charlevoix Fisheries Research Station
96 Grant St.
Charlevoix, MI  49720
TEL:  231-547-2914, ext. 237
clappd@michigan.gov

Fisheries Information & Technology Section 
Thom Litts (President)
GDNR Fisheries Management
2065 Highway 278 SE
Social Circle, GA 30025
TEL: 706 557-3236
Thom.Litts@dnr.state.ga.us

Fisheries Management Section 
Mark Porath (President) [MGT COMM]
Nebraska Game & Parks Commission
2200 N 33rd St
NE Game & Parks Comm
Lincoln, NE 68503-0370
TEL: 402-471-5583
Mark.Porath@nebraska.gov
Genetics Section
Jeffrey B. Olsen (President)
US Fish and Wildlife Service
1011 E Tudor Rd
Anchorage, AK 99503-6199
TEL  907-786-3598
jeffrey_olsen@fws.gov
International Fisheries Section 
 William Franzin (President)
 Laughing Water Arts & Science, Inc
1006 Kilkenny Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3T 5A5
Canada
TEL: 360-573-0202 ext. 112
 franzin@shaw.ca
Introduced Fish Section
Pam Fuller (President)
USGS
Southeast Ecological Science Center
7920 NW 71st Street
Gainesville, FL  32653
TEL: 352 264-3481
PFuller@usgs.gov
Marine Fisheries Section    
Benjamin Walther
University of Texas
Marine Science Institute
750 Channel View Drive
Port Aransas, TX 78373
TEL: 361-749-6810
bwalther@utexas.edu

Native Peoples Fisheries Section**
Position vacant

Physiology Section
J Mark Shrimpton (President)
University of Northern BC
3333 University Way
Prince George, BC V2N 4Z9
Canada
TEL: 250 960 5991
shrimptm@unbc.ca

Socioeconomics Section
Tom Lang (President) [MGT COMM]
Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept.
Inland Fisheries Dept.
409 Chester Ave.
Wichita Falls, TX 76301
TEL: 940-766-2383
tom.lang@tpwd.texas.gov

Water Quality Section
Margaret Murphy (President)  [MGT COMM]
ANCHOR QEA, LLC
80 Glen Street
Suite 2
Glens Falls, NY 12801
TEL: 518-792-3709 x 18
mmurphy@anchorqea.com

**Will regain vote after attaining 50 Members

NON VOTING:

Constitutional Consultant   [MGT COMM]
Jessica L. Mistak
Michigan DNR
DNR Fisheries Division
6833 Hwy 2, 4, and M-35
Gladstone, MI 49837
TEL: 906-786-2351 x127
mistakj@michigan.gov

Constitutional Consultant (in training)
John G. Boreman
NC State University
23 Covington Lane
Durham, NC 27712
TEL:  919 998-8145
John.Boreman@ncsu.edu
Student Subsection of Education Section
Andrew Carlson
Dept. of Natural Resource Management
South Dakota State University
NPB Lab. 138 Box 2140B
Brookings, SD 57007
TEL:  605-688-6248
andrew.carlson@sdstate.edu

Executive Director   [MGT COMM]
Douglas J. Austen
5410 Grosvenor Lane, Suite 110
Bethesda, MD 20814-2199
TEL: (301) 897-8616 x208 FAX: (301) 897-8096
dausten@fisheries.org

 

Emerging Leaders:
Patrick Cooney
Smith-Root, Inc.
14014 NE Salmon Creek Avenue
Vancouver, WA 98686
TEL: 360 573-0202 x141
pcooney@smith-root.com
Justin Davis
CT DEEP Eastern District Headquarters
209 Hebron Road
Marlborough, CT 06447
TEL: (860) 295-9523
justin.davis@ct.gov
Cari-Ann Hayer
US Geological Survey
Columbia Environmental Research Center
4200 New Haven Road
Columbia, MO  65201
TEL: 573-875-5399 ext. 1548
chayer@usgs.gov
Steve Midway
Coastal Carolina University
Ken E. Swain Hall  113
Conway, SC 29528-6054
TEL:  843-349-2238
smidway@coastal.edu