Northeastern Division

About the Northeastern Division of the American Fisheries Society


The Northeastern Division (NED) is one of four geographic subdivisions of the American Fisheries Society (AFS) within North America. The mission of the Division is to:

  • advance the conservation, development and wise use of fishery resources for optimum use and enjoyment by all,
  • gather and disseminate information on fisheries science and management, and
  • promote and evaluate the educational, scientific and technical aspects of the fisheries profession.

Annual Meeting

The Northeastern Division Business Meeting is held annually, and has historically been held in conjunction with the Northeast Fish and Wildlife Conference.

The Officers:

President Jim ArmstrongMid-Atlantic Fishery Management CouncilSuite 201800 N. State StDover, Delaware 19901(302) 526-5250jarmstrong@mafmc.orgPresident-ElectJohn E. Cooper Cooper Environmental Research 1444 Co RT 23 Constantia, NY 13044(315) 623-9694 cooperesearch@hughes.netFirst Vice-President Kristen H. FerryNOAA Restoration Center55 Great Republic DriveGloucester, MA 01930(978) 281-9179kristen.ferry@noaa.govSecretary-Treasurer Chris MillardTetra Tech | Complex World400 Red Brook Blvd., Suite 200 Owings Mills, MD, 21117(410) 356-8993chris.millard@tetratech.comPast PresidentRandy JacksonCornell Biological Field Station900 Shackelton Point Road Bridgeport, NY 13030(315) 633-9243

Click to visit the official site of The AFS Northeastern Division